Send me a message here or at rachelvorona@gmail.com. 

         

123 Street Avenue, City Town, 99999

(123) 555-6789

email@address.com

 

You can set your address, phone number, email and site description in the settings tab.
Link to read me page with more information.

Book

BOOK

Cover Image from Grand Central Publishing

Cover Image from Grand Central Publishing

My first book, Too Much: How Victorian Constraints Still Bind Women Today, comes into the world on February 25, 2020 from Grand Central Publishing. However, it is available for preorder now. Preorders and first week sales are extraordinarily important to writers, especially debut authors like myself, and I would be delighted if you bought a copy (or ten copies—go big, etc). You can find it at Amazon and Barnes & Noble, but I strongly urge you to order it from your local independent bookstore. If you live outside the United States, ordering from the Book Depository is your best bet.

You can also add Too Much on Goodreads.

If you’re a member of the press interested in covering Too Much or a bookseller who would like to organize an event, you can reach my publicist at Grand Central, Kamrun Nesa, at Kamrun.Nesa@hbgusa.com or me at rachelvorona@gmail.com. You can also refer to this site’s Contact page for my representation.

In the meantime, here’s a bit about the book:

A weeping woman is a monster. So too is a fat woman, a horny woman, a woman shrieking with laughter. Women who are one or more of these things have heard, or perhaps simply intuited, that we are repugnantly excessive, that we have taken illicit liberties to feel or fuck or eat with abandon. After bellowing like a barn animal in orgasm, hoovering a plate of mashed potatoes, or spraying out spit in the heat of expostulation, we've flinched-ugh, that was so gross. I am so gross. On rare occasions, we might revel in our excess-belting out anthems with our friends over karaoke, perhaps-but in the company of less sympathetic souls, our uncertainty always returns. A woman who is Too Much is a woman who reacts to the world with ardent intensity is a woman familiar to lashes of shame and disapproval, from within as well as without. 

Written in the tradition of Shrill, Dead Girls, Sex Object and other frank books about the female gaze, TOO MUCH encourages women to reconsider the beauty of their excesses-emotional, physical, and spiritual. Rachel Vorona Cote braids cultural criticism, theory, and storytelling together in her exploration of how culture grinds away our bodies, souls, and sexualities, forcing us into smaller lives than we desire. An erstwhile Victorian scholar, she sees many parallels between that era's fixation on women's "hysterical" behavior and our modern policing of the same; in the space of her writing, you're as likely to encounter Jane Eyre and Lizzie Bennet as you are Britney Spears and Tori Amos. This book will tell the story of how women, from then and now, have learned to draw power from their reservoirs of feeling, all that makes us "Too Much."